#175297  by 19deadhead65

Hey all!

So as we know a great deal of Jerry’s tone comes from a cranked twin, as I’m sure the majority of us have dealt with, I’m trying to get that tone at “bedroom” (apartment) levels.

I have a 72 Master Volume Dual Showman Reverb with 2 D120fs, I’m very aware how overkill that is for small rooms. But what my question is, is there any harm to the amplifier itself when the volume is cranked? And what is the safe sweet spot for “the tone”? The master volume can be in effect so I can dial it down however much, or I can use an attenuator.

I’m just not super knowledgeable in amp tech and am not sure if it would be harmful in any way to keep the volume at say 8-10 (while attenuated/turned down on the master volume).

Also, how much power can JBLs realistically handle? I know they're supposed to be able to take it, but can they handle 6-8? Presumably not 9-10 for long durations, if at all,

Sorry for the long post, thank y’all!
 #175302  by strumminsix

Depends on what year Jerry tone you're going for. Most of his career he routed a Fender Pre into a Mac poweramp.

This gave him insane volume and speaker movement. This volume on tap, controlled by picking dynamics, and making E/K JBLs redline really = JG.

But for most small stage players (self and most here). The lower wattage poweramp of the DSR + lower capability of the JBL Ds should get a nice approximation. Most JG players crank until they get the desired effect and end up going thru a few speakers learning "the heard way".
19deadhead65 liked this
 #175309  by Cumtax

get a Klon, it was invented for the precise reason to emulate a cranked twin. If the bloom is not enough a compressor with maxed release and low attack will help a lot
 #175310  by Cumtax

strumminsix wrote: Sun Dec 24, 2023 12:20 pm Depends on what year Jerry tone you're going for. Most of his career he routed a Fender Pre into a Mac poweramp.