#173104  by Cumtax

Hello guys, so this morning the octavider+ arrived and I could use some help with the signal chain. I'm new to pedalboard building so any tips with arrangements and cabling would be gold.

At the moment I came up with this setup

Wilson Colourful clone wah > polytune buffered > boost of the dead > octavider+ > moonshine (ts clone) > earth drive > mutron > retrovibe (univibe) > ventris (reverb) > chorus.

I play through a strat going into a twin and of course, I don't have an Obel. Because of that, I had to arrange the pedals differently and the result is a merge of different information I gathered around. For example, octavider instructions said to put it first on the chain, while most Jerry players put it after the envelope filter. I also don't play exclusively dead stuff so the upper section of the pedalboard is more for other things - for example, my Ventris has a quadraverbish setting to stack up with the chorus for 90s shoegaze. Also, I swapped the "phaser" with a univibe as prefer it as a modulation.

Since my board is not purely Jerry I tried to follow John Mayer's D&C2021 signal chain. I saw that Jerry, with OBEL, used mutron > phaser > octavider, but I guess with OBEL you have to think about your chain differently.

Again, since I'm new to this and have 0 experience and references, I'd be glad to take your input and experiment a bit to see if I can come up with an optimal chain.

I can also provide audio clips if needed

#173107  by lbpesq

You can essentially do the OBEL thing without an OBEL equipped guitar by keeping your guitar volume on “10” and placing a volume pedal last in your chain. That way the pedals always see the same, full, signal. I prefer to do it this way as it allows me to play wireless as opposed to the double tether required for an OBEL guitar.

Bill, tgo
Jon S. liked this
 #173108  by OsamaKeefe