#170292  by wpmartin1979

So after a long wait I finally received my Thick Air from Brian. After a day of playing around with it, all I can say is Wow! I’m not exactly sure what it is, but it is 100% pure Jerry. This thing stands alone as a Jerry tone machine, but can also be used to enhance other pedals, like my Butler Blue Tube. A bit expensive but totally worth it. I’ve never tried anything like this before. It is totally unique.

Anyone else have any experience with the Thick Air? Any suggested settings. I’ve really been liking both channels at noon going into the clean channel of the Blackbird. Like I said before, 100% Jerry!

#170293  by NeilG1

I got one of the first Thick Airs (#18) and haven’t turned it off since.
I use mine after my OBEL, with stage 1 always on at around 9-10:00. If I pop on stage 2, I usually do with it turned up high, around 3:00. Air switch on. With both engaged, roll off your tone knob and you’re in awesome slipknot territory.
I agree it’s hard to totally describe it. Adds some sustain, and “colours” the tone in a completely Jerry way. I love mine too. It’s such a fantastic pedal.
wpmartin1979 liked this
 #170294  by Jon S.

I don't see it on Brian's website - can you add a link?

EDIT: Never mind. It's not accessible under "Shop," you have to click on "More" and then "Accessories/Parts":
https://iocustomguitars.com/accessories%2Fparts I don't see a price, though.

Looks to be a clean boost. There's actually quite a bit of info. posted on it on Brian's site:

The Thick Air pedal consists of two simple Jfet transistor pre-amplifiers using limited supply/NOS
components, each with individual gain control and a foot-switch for each. Either pre-amp can be used
individually, or in combination.

Stage One – on the left (designated by the ridiculously obscure 'o' above the left LED) straight forward
single transistor preamp with gain control

Stage Two – on the right (also designated by an equally obscure 'oo' above the right LED ;o) same