name, city, instrument, years of playing, current band, gear
 #160652  by Mojohand811

Hey Now...

Well, I've been scoping out this forum for a while now. Most times I have gear questions, I get great advice here. Now I'm signed up and can ask you questions!

I am a musician with home base in Placerville, CA. My main band is Achilles Wheel. We've been playing all over Northern California and some in Oregon and Washington. Where an original rock band that started out playing covers and a lot of Dead. We called ourselves DeadAhead. In 2011, started introducing originals and changed the band name. We've got a lot of different influences from blues, country, bluegrass, gospel, world, folk, which all show themselves in our tunes. We approach the music with a similar mind set as the Dead, so it's always an adventure every show! We're excited to have just released our fourth studio album, Sanctuary. Check us out at www.achilleswheel.com.

When I'm not booked with AW, I fill in the calendar performing solo, or duo/trio, and with throw together ensembles at breweries, pubs, clubs, wineries, and restaurants. AW will play as a trio with bass and acoustic guitars. I have a monthly gig every first Thursday at the Torch Club in Sacramento with what I call the Jonny Mojo Band, usually a trio, sometimes adding keys. Jammy blues, country, and rock. I also have a monthly gig on third Thursdays in Nevada City at the Crazy Horse. We call it Grateful Thursday and pay tribute to the Dead and Jerry. I host it with one of the drummers from AW and we change up the musicians every month calling the group, Band Beyond Description. We've had members of Mars Hotel, Dead Winter Carpenters, Hot Buttered Rum, Grateful Bluegrass Boys, The Sometimers, Midnight North, Poor Man's Whiskey. It's super fun and has a different chemistry every time.