#120939  by cmc64

So i am about to do some relatively basic mods to my backup Strat. Ash body, maple neck/fretboard. All single-coil guitar.OBEL, Waldo buffer, mil-spec 250k tone pots and 25k volume pot with .022uf ceramic caps - the usual stuff. I am putting a DiMarzio SDS-1 in the neck position, Scott Walker of Scott Walker Guitars is converting a DiMarzio Super II into a single-coil for the middle position so now I need a bridge pickup. I know I should probably rout out the guitar and stick a humbucker in there but for the time being I want to keep this one a single coil guitar. Now Mr. Walker recommended a DiMarzio single-coil sized blade humbucker - the Super Distortion S (DP218) in particular. Check it out here.

So, any thoughts on that particular pickup (I have no experience with blade-style pickups) or suggestions for any other one that would match well with the neck and middle pups?
 #120943  by Utah Joe

At the risk of stating the obvious, it really depends on the tone you're going for. Scott is a great guy and you can't go wrong following his advice (he's building a guitar for me right now in fact). In addition to DiMarzio you may want to consider the D Allen JohnnyBlades (http://www.dallenpickups.com/Johnny_Hiland_s/61.htm). I haven't tried them myself but all of the reviews I've read for D Allen products are glowing testimonials. For my build I'm leaning toward a D Allen Voodoo Blues single-coil in the neck position, split SD II in the middle, and Lollar Imperial bridge.
 #120971  by cmc64