#142155  by claytushaywood

:cry:

i got a cab on ebay with two jbl e120's for a very nice price. I've been playing it out of low volume amps for a couple months and now I finally had a chance to crank it up with a twin and I believe I'm getting cone cry. Well... if what i'm hearing is cone cry... Certain notes kinda like squeal and make a terrible noise like something isnt vibrating properly.

the front loading clips that came with the cab look like they might be the cause of this sound (in which case I know it wouldnt be cone cry) but what do you guys think about these pics? The clips are pushing the cork somewhat into the outer layer of the surround.

Unforunately I dont have an amp loud enough to do a video clip of this clean- i can push my amp to distort and get some examples of this nasty sound

any input is appreciated- do you think these speaker clips could be the source of my sound problems with these jbl's?

Also- how difficult is replacing the dust caps on these?

THANKS!!
 #142158  by hippieguy1954

The term "cone cry" means different things to different folks. Hearing an audio recording would really help a lot.
Does it only happen with certain notes, high or low strings? At what volume on the Twin did it start?
 #142160  by TI4-1009

claytushaywood wrote:tried to attach pictures and it says the board attachment quota has been reached
forum/viewtopic.php?f=359&t=12940
 #142161  by tatittle

The cone cry I have experienced came on a speaker with no dope...and doping it removed the issue I think (though I sold it soon after).

I have had less obvious high freq noise on JBL's before which seem to be related to a dented dustcap, especially if it has been pulled back out with tape etc. I am not aware of any real cure for this issue though, other than a recone. There is an original JBL 12" recone kit on ebay now for an inflated $150.
 #142200  by claytushaywood