#66878  by jdsmodulus

Well I have been looking into these lately, it seems there is many that he played. Different necks, different electronics, pickups, and other configurations. So Ill start by asking the question; how does Bob run the midi with no pin cable attached? Also it seems all of his casios are wireless. That being said, how does he run the effects loop through the y cable wirelessly? It seems that maybe one of the extra boxes on his back strap would be to remote the midi wirelessly? Im seeing 3 boxes on his strap. One obviously is ear monitor mix, one is guitar, the other is midi? Ive yet to hear of direct midi wireless even today! Any thoughts, corrections or additons are appreciated. Pics are welcome Im still learning how to post them properly but I think for this thread they would help keep things organized.
 #66885  by strumminsix

Which era?

IIRC the Casio has on-board memory and processor so in theory you could simply activate it, have it split your signal, send your mag pickup down its normal route then on-board use presets in memory to morph this other signal then out via an additional 1/4" which is what I suspect he did.

MIDI is an oddity... It gets used in many unique and contradictory ways.
jdsmodulus wrote:That being said, how does he run the effects loop through the y cable wirelessly?
Effects loop?
 #66896  by NashvilleMike

It is hard for me to always pinpoint when Bob is using a midi computer gen effect and when he is making good use of things like phasers etc...

When typically did Bob use his Casio midi sound? In the 80's I assume with the pink guitar?
Did he use midid at the same time or parallel to traditional effects?
Strumminsix you got that new axe you love so much and you play Bob. What do you have in yours?
 #66899  by strumminsix

jdsmodulus wrote:all of his guitars had the same effects loop as jerry. post ibanez
Are you 100% sure. That is the first I have ever heard of this.