#149739  by keirweir

Hey everyone!

Its been a while but wanted to quickly chime in about some gear. I've been playing a Shakedown Twin for about 5 years now and have loved every second of it. On the other hand, I've always wanted a solid sounding reasonably lightweight rack system as a backup and alternate option. I slowly put together 4 space rack unit with a Furman power Conditioner, SMS Jerry Mods, MosValve 962 and am using a Catalinbread Talisman Plate Reverb Pedal (Thanks to Andrew Olsen at AO Guitars for the hookup!).

I really like the SMS and MosValve combo. Its lighter than my Shakedown 135 watt Twin head and is pretty close in tone. I've gigged a couple times with the SMS and have nothing but positive feedback.

For a simple setup where you can easily use a 1x12 or 2x12 you can't go wrong here. Brad was awesome to deal with too!

I posted the second set for tone examples.

#149757  by Staemius

I've been happy with this combination also! I picked up the MosValve after seeing recommendations on the board a few years ago.
 #149759  by TeeJay

Sounds fantastic. Is all the reverb exclusively the Talisman?
 #149769  by Eyesoftheworld

I also like my SMS with Mosvalve 962 combo. I am running through a JBL E-120. I have a twin reverb head but wasn't getting that low Jerry tone I like so much. This combo does.
 #149774  by keirweir

The YouTube video I shared was playing through a 2x12 loaded with Beyma Liberty speakers. I played a gig a couple weeks later in the same room with two drummers but using a single E-120 it was MORE than loud enough.

After reviewing the first minute of this product demo I was sold on the Talisman - I put it right before the amp input so both OBEL and direct have the reverb.

Here's a more intimate representation of the SMS > single E-120 with the Talisman.

#149786  by Staemius

Are those the settings you are using - high gain on the SMS with low output and high presence on the MosValve? Thanks!
 #149794  by keirweir