name, city, instrument, years of playing, current band, gear
 #58724  by EsteemedLocomotive

Been coming to this site for a few years now, either for chords, news, or archive, figure its about time to register. I've been playing for 5 years now, almost solely on a 70's model Epiphone Acoustic. I never really thought about wheter I favor playing Bobby or Jerry songs more. Hmmm. I guess I know more BW songs but they also tend to be less complex as well huh? I'm pretty instinct driven and like finding grooves, and Minglewood, Mr.Charlie, Not Fade Away-GDTRFB, Dancin' in the Street are FUN STUFF! As for Jerry tunes I am still in the attempt process of Scarlet Begonias, Wharf Rat, and Black Peter.

I live in Southern Maryland, and there is not much of a scene here if youknow what I mean.
 #58746  by EsteemedLocomotive

bodiddley wrote:Whereabouts in Southern Maryland? I use to be stationed in Indian Head (Like 20 yrs. ago).
I live about 5 minutes north of there off 210! Bryans Road man, nowhere!
 #58753  by bodiddley

Wow. So even 20 yrs. later there' still nothing there at the end of the highway to hell (210) ? I spent 3 yrs. there and then moved to Germantown, MD. for a bit. Saw some awesome GD shows at RFK and former Cap Centre while I Was stationed there. Talk about surreal...coming back on base after a Dead show with you buddies all wound up ready to party all night. I had some great times there.
 #58758  by EsteemedLocomotive

we have like 4 liquor stores, a McDs, A Safeway, A bar and a movie theater... I have a tape of the last RFK show (i think it was last it was early '95 w/traffic)
 #58762  by kenneybonz

hey now loco.. i am richmond va contingency but do a lot of work in dc area.. not so much so md, though i drive 301 all the time.. beautiful place to live though.. way ta go...
down hyeah they are still stuck in the civil war, which ain't all THAT bad, but ..