When it doesn't fit anywhere else
 #20436  by GD_Loser

Hey everybody! I'm gonna be playin' bass in my school's jazz band this year, and I'm afraid I won't be able to hold my own at the rate I'm goin' right now. School starts at the end of August, and I'm wondering if any of you all with bass experience could give some tips to kind of fake my way through playin' until I get pretty good. Thanks.

BTW I didn't put this in the bass forum 'cause I don't think anyone ever looks in there.

#20439  by CaptainTrips

I can simplify this a little I think.

1. Learn to read chord positions from the guitarists you are playing with. Identify root notes, and the fifth is also important.

2. Rhythmically, learn to anticipate changes and try to add drama and release tension on major changes. Kinda like dropping bombs.
 #20458  by StringCheeseSector9

Im also new to bass but as a stringed instrument it is very unique. Make sure you get the technique down of Muting with your thumb and then keepin the beat going with index and middle the best advice i can give you though are the beginner bass lessons at studybass.com

good luck bud

#20461  by AugustWest