#46407  by letting_it_grow

hello there! i am new to the rukind forums, and somewhat new to the dead. sadly, i was never able to attend any shows, seeing as i was too young at the time to even know who the gd were. but i am ready to learn!

at this time, i only have a few shows. most are from the early eighties, and a few are from 73, 74. the eighties shows are my favorite, and i was wondering if anyone might recommend a few for me to check out. please list any shows from other eras too if u feel i would really enjoy them :smile:

i acquired these shows via torrent downloading. i have no idea if this is the preferred method, so any advice would be wonderful.

thanks for the help

#46409  by weirimpressed

whats going on Grow.

you can check out archive.org for a huge variety of shows. Look for some spring 77 shows, those are always fun to listen to

#46418  by CountryMile Cadillac

The first time I can remember hearing the Dead was steeling some of my sisters LP's and listening to American Beauty, and while listening be confused as to wether the cover said American Beauty ar American Reality. To be a young man again.....

I never gave that album back, and still listen to the same copy today, as a matter of fact I think I'll go put the needle down right now

#46429  by tigerstrat

how about 8/23/68 for starters, followed by 3/25/66.

#46438  by jeffm725

I have been wearing out the 80's (mostly hometown)shows lately

5/12/81
4/17/82 (Ola' Bah-Bee!!)
7/31/82
4/23/83 (wicked scarlet fire)
10/15/83 (best of the 3 October 83 Stephens, also one of my favorite spaces ever)
6/24/84 - Saratoga madness
10/9/84 (the return of smokestack, jack straw in the middle of set 2)
10/14/84 (Longest non new years show of the 80's-90's)
3/31/85 - Inverted Playin' - Day tripper
6/30/85 - THE shakedown
3/20/86 - box of Breakout

I'll stop there and do the rest of the 80's tomorrow

#46439  by letting_it_grow