#83657  by javalina

We all know people who have been singing since they were kids, harmonizing etc. Do you guys know any people that didn't start singing till they were old? (like 47) I just started singing chord tones and my own real slow version of I Know You Rider. I figure it's good for my ears, if not anybody else's.

My question is: can you learn to really sing at an advanced age, or is it one of those things you had better start as a kid like violin and trumpet?
 #83658  by Rusty the Scoob

I was getting to be acceptable at harmonies last summer when I worked on them a lot... couldn't sing a note when I was younger. It's definitely a developable skill. Not sure if you can become a great frontman but I think you can learn to hit pitches and phrasing.
 #83663  by ronster

While I've been playing the guitar for 35 years, I didn't start singing until 2 years ago when I turned 50. I figured at this point of my life I don't care much what people think I just want to sing along while I play. From what I can hear, yes you do get much better and it does help your ear and playing a lot. Wish I started a long time ago.
 #83666  by JonnyBoy

Check out the local churches, they sometimes have voice training for VERY little money (nightly church donations $10-20) and you can learn a lot. The down side for the less religious people, they will try day and night to get you to come to church 3 times a week and donate 10% of your income, but you can say you attend another church you're happy at. These are classes to help choir singers better their skills or try to brush up new comers into the choir. Around her it is open to anyone that wants to try. The lady at a church up the street from me is a killer Aretha Franklin, she also sings in a Jazz ensemble on the side. Then again, I live in the bible belt, churches are on every street corner. If you're single, there are some quality women to meet also.
 #83669  by FretfulDave