No tube shields ?

No tube shields ?

Postby Tennessee Jedi » Tue Sep 14, 2010 6:35 am

If you were buying an amp and the seller said it had " no tube shields " what would that mean ?
Would the amp still work ?
Does this need to be fixed 1st ?
Me stupid
Thanks
:D
User avatar
Tennessee Jedi
Senior Member
 
Posts: 4225
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 6:29 am
Location: Bucks Co.Pa

Re: No tube shields ?

Postby strumminsix » Tue Sep 14, 2010 6:46 am

Tennessee Jedi wrote:If you were buying an amp and the seller said it had " no tube shields " what would that mean ?
Would the amp still work ?
Does this need to be fixed 1st ?
Me stupid
Thanks
:D

Means you'll never get "Jerry Tone"

Preamp, shields, you can buy them for about $20 for a set.
User avatar
strumminsix
Senior Member
 
Posts: 6671
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 8:13 am
Location: Chicago

Re: No tube shields ?

Postby Tennessee Jedi » Tue Sep 14, 2010 7:12 am

Image
" Help us Strumming 6 - a Dual Showman Reverb is in jeopardy ! "
Can an idiot like me fix it or is this a get-a-qualified-repairman-type of deal ?
:cry:
User avatar
Tennessee Jedi
Senior Member
 
Posts: 4225
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 6:29 am
Location: Bucks Co.Pa

Re: No tube shields ?

Postby hogan » Tue Sep 14, 2010 7:22 am

They are just the aluminium sleeves that go around the preamp tubes.
They do not effect the function of the amp. They are there to protect the tubes and some would argue they offer some emi/rfi shielding. I've run lots of amps over the years and couldn't hear the difference one way or the other. Putting a set on your tubes is as easy as turning your wrist.
Honest to the point of recklessness.
PM me for a cab
http://www.facebook.com/workingmansdead
Happy customers (~);-} :
paulinnc, spaceyrface43, AKdead, chuckles, ebelgee, Quebee, Kennay, bomall01, NashvilleMike, Strumminsix,jx2638,Chutley, Adam Deckard, jkstraw, TennesseeJedi, deadhead1988, spacefunkologist, rmackenzie
hogan
Senior Member
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 6:01 pm

Re: No tube shields ?

Postby strumminsix » Tue Sep 14, 2010 7:43 am

LOL, TJ! Just the preamp shields, dude! I've run an amp that was missing one for a year then noticed it was gone. Put one on and never saw a difference!

hogan wrote: Putting a set on your tubes is as easy as turning your wrist.

And take it from Hogan, he knows alot about turning turning his wrist! :lol: :lol:
User avatar
strumminsix
Senior Member
 
Posts: 6671
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 8:13 am
Location: Chicago

Re: No tube shields ?

Postby Tennessee Jedi » Tue Sep 14, 2010 7:50 am

Thanks for the info
:smile: :smile: :smile:
User avatar
Tennessee Jedi
Senior Member
 
Posts: 4225
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 6:29 am
Location: Bucks Co.Pa

Re: No tube shields ?

Postby hogan » Tue Sep 14, 2010 7:52 am

Image

wanky, wanky
Honest to the point of recklessness.
PM me for a cab
http://www.facebook.com/workingmansdead
Happy customers (~);-} :
paulinnc, spaceyrface43, AKdead, chuckles, ebelgee, Quebee, Kennay, bomall01, NashvilleMike, Strumminsix,jx2638,Chutley, Adam Deckard, jkstraw, TennesseeJedi, deadhead1988, spacefunkologist, rmackenzie
hogan
Senior Member
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 6:01 pm


Return to Jerry Tone

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests