Can a frying pan Q-tron be used as a buffer?

Can a frying pan Q-tron be used as a buffer?

Postby Kennay » Mon Apr 28, 2014 6:58 am

It has a bypass jack. Do I need to have any other mods done? Thanks in advance!
Kennay
Wavy Gravy
Wavy Gravy
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 5:55 am

Re: Can a frying pan Q-tron be used as a buffer?

Postby tatittle » Mon Apr 28, 2014 10:56 am

Ill do a little just woke up thinking out loud here:
Indeed the 1st version Q Tron has a DRY output in addition to the WET/Affected output. I guess one would need to have some engineering comprehension and look at the schematic or guts to determine if a buffer is used for either outputs or both. I don't know that, I do know buffers always seem to improve my EF performance, but I have several and its possible the old EH doesn't benefit as much bc it has its own. I somehow doubt it though. Boss pedals reportedly have a decent buffer in them, and the common theory with several pedals it is desirable to have a mix of true bypass and buffered pedals. I have always noticed superior performance when using a circuit which the buffer has been a primary goal of the pedal/gizmo; intended to not change the tone of the signal at all. Especially with EF's.
tatittle
One More Saturday Night
One More Saturday Night
 
Posts: 406
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2012 8:44 am
Location: NJ via Bklyn; Detroit; Charleston; Boulder; Miami; D.C.; etc

Re: Can a frying pan Q-tron be used as a buffer?

Postby Kennay » Mon May 12, 2014 7:13 am

Where is that pretty man with the blue latex gloves when I need him?
Kennay
Wavy Gravy
Wavy Gravy
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 5:55 am

Re: Can a frying pan Q-tron be used as a buffer?

Postby TI4-1009 » Mon May 12, 2014 8:49 am

He's around. Building buffers. Changing avatars. Lurking....

Image
"Do not write so that you can be understood, write so that you cannot be misunderstood." -Epictetus

First show: 8/16/69 (Woodstock)
Last show: 3/19/95 (Unbroken Chain breakout)
Member of the Four-Decade Club
Charter Member, President & CEO of OAD (Order of the Ancient Deadheads)
User avatar
TI4-1009
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1458
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 6:27 am
Location: Upstate NY- Toodaloo

Re: Can a frying pan Q-tron be used as a buffer?

Postby waldo041 » Mon May 12, 2014 4:34 pm

Kennay wrote:It has a bypass jack. Do I need to have any other mods done? Thanks in advance!


The bypass jack is just a output tap directly off of the input jack. The Qtron unlike the Mu-Tron III is true bypass so you cannot use it as a buffer.

~waldo
"Tone is in the instruments. Technique in the hands. Do what you will." ~ quote from some guy at the TGP forum
User avatar
waldo041
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2816
Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 10:58 am
Location: Indiana

Re: Can a frying pan Q-tron be used as a buffer?

Postby tatittle » Mon May 12, 2014 6:30 pm

Is that a picture of you Waldo? I was envisioning a more guru type countenance...perhaps with a wizard's hat? :-)
tatittle
One More Saturday Night
One More Saturday Night
 
Posts: 406
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2012 8:44 am
Location: NJ via Bklyn; Detroit; Charleston; Boulder; Miami; D.C.; etc

Re: Can a frying pan Q-tron be used as a buffer?

Postby Kennay » Tue May 13, 2014 5:55 am

Thank you Mike! BTW...your site kicks ass!
Kennay
Wavy Gravy
Wavy Gravy
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 5:55 am


Return to Jerry Tone

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests