Power Conditioner

Chat about Equipment Info

Power Conditioner

Postby DenverEd » Thu Nov 01, 2012 11:44 am

I need to buy one. Which Furman do y'all recommend?
DenverEd
Steal Your Face
Steal Your Face
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2005 2:59 pm
Location: Beautiful Colorado

Re: Power Conditioner

Postby Smolder » Thu Nov 01, 2012 11:49 am

I'm cheap, so I have the Merit 8x2... a bit more protection than the RP-8 which is basically a power strip in rack mount. You can find them new and shipped with warrantee for $60 on ebay (just bought another yesterday).

There are way better conditioners... but I've never spent the bucks to know if they're worth it.
Smolder
Senior Member
 
Posts: 614
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 11:42 am
Location: 8152 feet... in the rockies.

Re: Power Conditioner

Postby DenverEd » Mon Nov 05, 2012 7:51 am

Anyone else care to weigh in?
DenverEd
Steal Your Face
Steal Your Face
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2005 2:59 pm
Location: Beautiful Colorado

Re: Power Conditioner

Postby strumminsix » Mon Nov 05, 2012 8:56 am

You should do more research. Years ago I was told that spending less than $150 just bought you a rack mounted power strip with nothing more than standard surge protection.

Don't know if that's still true.
User avatar
strumminsix
Senior Member
 
Posts: 6641
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 8:13 am
Location: Chicago

Re: Power Conditioner

Postby Smolder » Mon Nov 05, 2012 9:06 am

strumminsix wrote:You should do more research. Years ago I was told that spending less than $150 just bought you a rack mounted power strip with nothing more than standard surge protection.

Don't know if that's still true.



this one seems to be a favorite amongst guitar players playing live. I've never used one.

http://www.amazon.com/Furman-P-1800-PF- ... ner+furman
Smolder
Senior Member
 
Posts: 614
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 11:42 am
Location: 8152 feet... in the rockies.

Re: Power Conditioner

Postby ugly rumor » Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:22 pm

at one time I was in touch with Janet Furman, and she said that after she sold the company quality control suffered a lot. I would try to find an old one made before the sale, which date escapes me now, but I do know that she was very quality concsious.
Gone are the days we stopped to decide where we should go, we just ride...
ugly rumor
Bobby
Bobby
 
Posts: 369
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2009 6:33 am
Location: Virginia

Re: Power Conditioner

Postby Jon S. » Mon Nov 05, 2012 5:35 pm

The ex-owner of the co. said things were better under her ... wow, that's a shock.

Speaking for myself, I'm glad I spent the extra few bucks on the P-1800 AR which is a voltage regulator, not a mere power conditioner. It pays for itself at outdoor gigs where outlets are scarce.

Image
"For me, I think the only danger is being too much in love with guitar playing. The music is the most important thing, and the guitar is only the instrument." Jerry Garcia
User avatar
Jon S.
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1348
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 12:34 pm

Re: Power Conditioner

Postby ugly rumor » Mon Nov 05, 2012 9:21 pm

I know, right? shifting production to China and cheaping out on components to make more money probably did improve the product. Old USA quality was never all that, IRC.
Gone are the days we stopped to decide where we should go, we just ride...
ugly rumor
Bobby
Bobby
 
Posts: 369
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2009 6:33 am
Location: Virginia

Re: Power Conditioner

Postby zambiland » Mon Nov 05, 2012 10:42 pm

It depends on what your needs are. The guys are right, most of them are glorified power strips. That said, I have a Furman because I like the lights and the voltage meter. But, for serious electrical issues (like gigs in Nederland), I do use the voltage regulator version (model number escapes me right now). It's an older one. Since I dropped my Lexicon LXP 1 and 5, I haven't really needed but they got squirrely in a hurry when the voltage dropped.

For my location recording, I use a double conversion sine wave UPS. It's crazy heavy and runs off the batteries full time with a brand new sine wave. If power gets funky I have 10 minutes or so to save my files and deal with the power. Luckily, I've never really had to use it since I got it. It has just enough capacity to run my computer and interfaces. For bigger shows, I have a monster double conversion Liebert, but it's too crazy heavy so it stays in the shed.
zambiland
Senior Member
 
Posts: 514
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 12:13 pm
Location: Boulder CO

Re: Power Conditioner

Postby Jon S. » Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 am

ugly rumor wrote:I know, right? shifting production to China and cheaping out on components to make more money probably did improve the product. Old USA quality was never all that, IRC.

No one's dissing the good ole USA. On the other hand, nearly all of the bands in my neck of the woods use something by Furman and nothing's failing on anyone that I've ever heard of. There are times to prefer old USA over new imports. IMO, here ain't one of 'em but for sure it's a free country, do what you like.
"For me, I think the only danger is being too much in love with guitar playing. The music is the most important thing, and the guitar is only the instrument." Jerry Garcia
User avatar
Jon S.
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1348
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 12:34 pm

Re: Power Conditioner

Postby Smolder » Tue Nov 06, 2012 7:00 am

the best way to filter is actually not to filter. Converting AC to DC and then back to AC creates a pure clean wave. That's a pretty big heavy and expensive box. After that, everything is a compromise. In a rock and roll band, I'm not really sure how much clean power is worth... but with any clean amp/mac it's probably more important than with a pointed guitar into an orange driving chainsaw metal.
Last edited by Smolder on Sat Jan 12, 2013 1:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Smolder
Senior Member
 
Posts: 614
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 11:42 am
Location: 8152 feet... in the rockies.

Re: Power Conditioner

Postby Diggey » Sun May 04, 2014 2:20 am

I know the this is an old thread, but I could use some help. I'm just building a rig and going Rack for the first time. I'm going to go with the Fyd preamp, and likely the Rocktron 300 power amp. I've seen folks here have a power conditioner but not 100% sure I need one....... Or I guess that's my first question, do I need one?

Do I need one right away?

Would you recommend anything else for a setup?

Any feedback on the Furman M-8DX power conditioner?

Thanks in advance
Diggey
tiger
tiger
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 6:54 pm

Re: Power Conditioner

Postby tcsned » Sun May 04, 2014 6:34 am

I would say they're not essential unless you live or gig in areas with really sketchy power. I live in the mountains of southwest Virginia and have gigged in some really iffy power situations and while we have blown fuses, popped breakers and had voltage drops etc, I have never lost a piece of gear from a power issue. I use a cheap rack power unit that has a voltage meter but it isn't a voltage regulator. More than anything it's convenient to keep all the rack stuff plugged into the same source and not have a bunch of things to plug in every gig. I don't think you're going to increase performance or safety with this over a power strip with a surge protector.
User avatar
tcsned
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2613
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2009 2:50 pm
Location: Blacksburg, VA

Re: Power Conditioner

Postby Searing75 » Sun May 04, 2014 7:13 am

I just use the entry level firman stuff. Cheap, and works for me. I have played thousands (well, close to) gigs, and never had an issue.

I can say though, that I would recommend a mcintosh power amp, like the mc50, which you can rack mount in a shallow case. With your fyd pre, you could use a six space and have both in it!

If you can't afford the mc, go with a carvin dcm200l. Great amp, and über clean! Close to Jerry. The rocktron, and you will find many here who agree, is further from the tone you are chasing.

Just my opinion, and opinions are like ass holes. We've all got them, and they're all full of shit! :P

Chris
All's well that sounds well.
Searing75
Terrapin
Terrapin
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Sep 25, 2013 6:09 am
Location: Western NY

Re: Power Conditioner

Postby williamsaut » Sun May 04, 2014 10:28 am

I use a 20amp Trip Lite power conditioner regulator and run the whole band through it. This will regulate the actual voltage to plus or minus 5-10% or something like that as well as spike protection and noise filtering. This way you can rely on a consistent performance out of the equipment regardless of house line conditions with in reason.

very similar to this one on Ebay now.

http://rover.ebay.com/rover/1/711-53200 ... =824&kw=lg
When the secrets all are told,
And the petals all unfold.
williamsaut
Blues for Allah
Blues for Allah
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Fri May 14, 2010 6:17 pm
Location: Connecticut

Next

Return to Grateful Dead Equipment Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests