Power Conditioner

Chat about Equipment Info

Power Conditioner

Postby DenverEd » Thu Nov 01, 2012 11:44 am

I need to buy one. Which Furman do y'all recommend?
DenverEd
Steal Your Face
Steal Your Face
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2005 2:59 pm
Location: Beautiful Colorado

Re: Power Conditioner

Postby Smolder » Thu Nov 01, 2012 11:49 am

I'm cheap, so I have the Merit 8x2... a bit more protection than the RP-8 which is basically a power strip in rack mount. You can find them new and shipped with warrantee for $60 on ebay (just bought another yesterday).

There are way better conditioners... but I've never spent the bucks to know if they're worth it.
Smolder
Senior Member
 
Posts: 598
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 11:42 am
Location: 8152 feet... in the rockies.

Re: Power Conditioner

Postby DenverEd » Mon Nov 05, 2012 7:51 am

Anyone else care to weigh in?
DenverEd
Steal Your Face
Steal Your Face
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2005 2:59 pm
Location: Beautiful Colorado

Re: Power Conditioner

Postby strumminsix » Mon Nov 05, 2012 8:56 am

You should do more research. Years ago I was told that spending less than $150 just bought you a rack mounted power strip with nothing more than standard surge protection.

Don't know if that's still true.
User avatar
strumminsix
Senior Member
 
Posts: 6634
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 8:13 am
Location: Chicago

Re: Power Conditioner

Postby Smolder » Mon Nov 05, 2012 9:06 am

strumminsix wrote:You should do more research. Years ago I was told that spending less than $150 just bought you a rack mounted power strip with nothing more than standard surge protection.

Don't know if that's still true.



this one seems to be a favorite amongst guitar players playing live. I've never used one.

http://www.amazon.com/Furman-P-1800-PF- ... ner+furman
Smolder
Senior Member
 
Posts: 598
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 11:42 am
Location: 8152 feet... in the rockies.

Re: Power Conditioner

Postby ugly rumor » Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:22 pm

at one time I was in touch with Janet Furman, and she said that after she sold the company quality control suffered a lot. I would try to find an old one made before the sale, which date escapes me now, but I do know that she was very quality concsious.
Gone are the days we stopped to decide where we should go, we just ride...
ugly rumor
Bobby
Bobby
 
Posts: 368
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2009 6:33 am
Location: Virginia

Re: Power Conditioner

Postby Jon S. » Mon Nov 05, 2012 5:35 pm

The ex-owner of the co. said things were better under her ... wow, that's a shock.

Speaking for myself, I'm glad I spent the extra few bucks on the P-1800 AR which is a voltage regulator, not a mere power conditioner. It pays for itself at outdoor gigs where outlets are scarce.

Image
"For me, I think the only danger is being too much in love with guitar playing. The music is the most important thing, and the guitar is only the instrument." Jerry Garcia
User avatar
Jon S.
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1299
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 12:34 pm

Re: Power Conditioner

Postby ugly rumor » Mon Nov 05, 2012 9:21 pm

I know, right? shifting production to China and cheaping out on components to make more money probably did improve the product. Old USA quality was never all that, IRC.
Gone are the days we stopped to decide where we should go, we just ride...
ugly rumor
Bobby
Bobby
 
Posts: 368
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2009 6:33 am
Location: Virginia

Re: Power Conditioner

Postby zambiland » Mon Nov 05, 2012 10:42 pm

It depends on what your needs are. The guys are right, most of them are glorified power strips. That said, I have a Furman because I like the lights and the voltage meter. But, for serious electrical issues (like gigs in Nederland), I do use the voltage regulator version (model number escapes me right now). It's an older one. Since I dropped my Lexicon LXP 1 and 5, I haven't really needed but they got squirrely in a hurry when the voltage dropped.

For my location recording, I use a double conversion sine wave UPS. It's crazy heavy and runs off the batteries full time with a brand new sine wave. If power gets funky I have 10 minutes or so to save my files and deal with the power. Luckily, I've never really had to use it since I got it. It has just enough capacity to run my computer and interfaces. For bigger shows, I have a monster double conversion Liebert, but it's too crazy heavy so it stays in the shed.
zambiland
Magic Hand
Magic Hand
 
Posts: 498
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 12:13 pm
Location: Boulder CO

Re: Power Conditioner

Postby Jon S. » Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 am

ugly rumor wrote:I know, right? shifting production to China and cheaping out on components to make more money probably did improve the product. Old USA quality was never all that, IRC.

No one's dissing the good ole USA. On the other hand, nearly all of the bands in my neck of the woods use something by Furman and nothing's failing on anyone that I've ever heard of. There are times to prefer old USA over new imports. IMO, here ain't one of 'em but for sure it's a free country, do what you like.
"For me, I think the only danger is being too much in love with guitar playing. The music is the most important thing, and the guitar is only the instrument." Jerry Garcia
User avatar
Jon S.
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1299
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 12:34 pm

Re: Power Conditioner

Postby Smolder » Tue Nov 06, 2012 7:00 am

the best way to filter is actually not to filter. Converting AC to DC and then back to AC creates a pure clean wave. That's a pretty big heavy and expensive box. After that, everything is a compromise. In a rock and roll band, I'm not really sure how much clean power is worth... but with any clean amp/mac it's probably more important than with a pointed guitar into an orange driving chainsaw metal.
Last edited by Smolder on Sat Jan 12, 2013 1:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Smolder
Senior Member
 
Posts: 598
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 11:42 am
Location: 8152 feet... in the rockies.


Return to Grateful Dead Equipment Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests