Using a twin as an effects rack

Using a twin as an effects rack

Postby tapestry » Tue Apr 03, 2012 7:46 pm

Space saving and functional:

Image
User avatar
tapestry
Bobby
Bobby
 
Posts: 354
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:47 am

Re: Using a twin as an effects rack

Postby waldo041 » Tue Apr 03, 2012 8:01 pm

very cool and innovative.

peace,
waldo
"Tone is in the instruments. Technique in the hands. Do what you will." ~ quote from some guy at the TGP forum
User avatar
waldo041
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2815
Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 10:58 am
Location: Indiana

Re: Using a twin as an effects rack

Postby eric » Tue Apr 03, 2012 8:52 pm

holy spectacular! :cool: but I'd be afraid of getting BIT every time I wanted to tweak a pedal!!!!
eric
710 ashbury
710 ashbury
 
Posts: 271
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 7:00 am
Location: CT / RI

Re: Using a twin as an effects rack

Postby hippieguy1954 » Wed Apr 04, 2012 4:25 am

Yes, very cool and innovative! I just hope it is not top heavy and I hope Furman doesn't block Mc's rising heat! :smile: :smile: :smile:
Image
First show: 1973
Last show: 1994
User avatar
hippieguy1954
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1202
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2011 1:29 pm
Location: Upstate, NY

Re: Using a twin as an effects rack

Postby JustinJohn » Wed Apr 04, 2012 6:29 am

AWESOME!!! :hail:
User avatar
JustinJohn
Terrapin
Terrapin
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 5:35 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon

Re: Using a twin as an effects rack

Postby JustinJohn » Wed Apr 04, 2012 6:29 am

AWESOME!!! :hail:
User avatar
JustinJohn
Terrapin
Terrapin
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 5:35 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon

Re: Using a twin as an effects rack

Postby tigerstrat » Wed Apr 04, 2012 11:07 am

That is pretty neat, but does look dangerously top-heavy.

Where is the reverb tank? ...or is that blue pedal a Digitech reverb?
"There, in huge black letters, was 'The Grateful Dead'. It just... cancelled my mind out."-Garcia
User avatar
tigerstrat
Senior Member
 
Posts: 4628
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 1:20 pm
Location: Portland,OR

Re: Using a twin as an effects rack

Postby broesau » Wed Apr 04, 2012 11:33 am

Bravo, that's very clever.
broesau
Terrapin
Terrapin
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 11:58 am
Location: Nashville, TN

Re: Using a twin as an effects rack

Postby tapestry » Wed Apr 04, 2012 1:32 pm

tigerstrat wrote:That is pretty neat, but does look dangerously top-heavy.

Where is the reverb tank? ...or is that blue pedal a Digitech reverb?


Top heavy, but its solid. My future plan is to get a smaller shock rack case with casters (6 or 8 space) to hold the fur man and mcintosh. I have a10 space amp rack case that is just too bulky for me. Once I get that new case, Ill put the 2x12 cab on top of the mcintosh.

The reverb tank keeps crapping out from time to time. Im using a digitech reverb that actually sounds really lush! I plan on getting the actual tank fixed, and also trying some other digital reverbs as well. The twin is modded with all the waldo mods and sounds incredible with my warmoth tiger!
User avatar
tapestry
Bobby
Bobby
 
Posts: 354
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:47 am

Re: Using a twin as an effects rack

Postby hippieguy1954 » Wed Apr 04, 2012 1:42 pm

Very cool! That's gonna turn out really NICE!
Do you have a front cover/speaker grill for when you transport the twin/effects? :smile: :smile: :smile:
Image
First show: 1973
Last show: 1994
User avatar
hippieguy1954
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1202
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2011 1:29 pm
Location: Upstate, NY

Re: Using a twin as an effects rack

Postby mijknahs » Wed Apr 04, 2012 2:01 pm

I like it. Saving space is always a good thing for the gigging musician (if you don't have roadies).
User avatar
mijknahs
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1515
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2009 8:51 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Using a twin as an effects rack

Postby JonnyBoy » Wed Apr 04, 2012 4:18 pm

Clever indeed, how are you mounting the pedals to the board? do you think the furman can fit in there on the top between the transformer?
http://otislotus.net/ Finally finished our new site...
User avatar
JonnyBoy
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2134
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 8:35 am
Location: the south swamps

Re: Using a twin as an effects rack

Postby tapestry » Fri Apr 06, 2012 7:20 am

Hippie: No cover made yet....coming soon!

mijknahs: thanks!

Jonny: Industrial velco for now, fur man doesn't fit horizontally but will fit vertically.
User avatar
tapestry
Bobby
Bobby
 
Posts: 354
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:47 am

Re: Using a twin as an effects rack

Postby hawk900 » Fri Apr 06, 2012 7:50 am

Yeah I build similar rig. You might wanna re enforce either inside or on the outside those top corners of the cab on the backside right beneath the power transformers on the 2100. I'd hate to see those two corner joints give out on ya especially if thats a vintage cab. I used three screew L brackets on a shelf I build in my rack but I used a shelving system. Also for a door I used detactchable L shaped hinges that lift right out and a padlock flap on the right side. I built doors for both front and back.
hawk900
Ice Cream!
Ice Cream!
 
Posts: 118
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 6:24 am

Re: Using a twin as an effects rack

Postby hawk900 » Fri Apr 06, 2012 8:21 am

Oh yes and heat is a factor with 2100. I used 2 cpu exhaust fans on the top of the driver card/heatsink side. Sucking the air out off the to bringing fresh air in through the front back and sides. You could also screw an intake fan on the front and an exhaust on the back. I've read nasty stories about peeps blocking the top of the screen on the card/heatsink side on our style chassis. Especially the top 2 output transformers on both sides which use thermal paste and in original production MC's I heard were skimpy on their factory dab of paste. I used silver paste from my local custom computer store. 10bucks a syringe would be more than enough.
Just remember the cooler any power supply,cpu's ,ram,output transisters,etc run ten times better in a cool well ventilated condition and avoid thermal breakdown,distortion,loss of clarity audio and worse component failure. Those heat sinks aren't ginormous for no reason. I def. wouldn't put anything on top of the 2100(highly advisable) especially something that might have ventilation holes on the bottom producing even more heat. I would even trust those 2 exhaust fans on the 2300 which are on the back since it has a roof. I would devise a fresh air intake somehow if I owned that model.
You do have one of the sweetest tones out of any other jerryist out there. What else do you have in there? Other than the boss stuff and the qtron which we all recognise.
Good job GProject.
hawk900
Ice Cream!
Ice Cream!
 
Posts: 118
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 6:24 am

Next

Return to Jerry Tone

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests