Guitar Effects Switching Unit

Guitar Effects Switching Unit

Postby USBLUES » Thu Feb 10, 2011 1:59 pm

I am in the process of building my pedal board. Good Ol' Jerry had a custom effects switching unit, and i like the propect of that so I can have my effect knobs at hands reach and on/off at the feet. Is there info on a diy project for this, a kit, or a resonably priced commercial product for this ?
USBLUES
Pigpen
Pigpen
 
Posts: 142
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 10:54 am

Re: Guitar Effects Switching Unit

Postby strumminsix » Thu Feb 10, 2011 2:11 pm

Many options available: viewtopic.php?f=319&t=3876
User avatar
strumminsix
Senior Member
 
Posts: 6634
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 8:13 am
Location: Chicago

Re: Guitar Effects Switching Unit

Postby USBLUES » Fri Feb 11, 2011 9:37 am

Thanks man, i am checking these out as we speak. At first glance there doesn;t seem to be a good option at fairley low price. On the DOzin Schematic, not sure how acurate it is, Jerry has one cable that goes from the switch unit to the foot controller. Does that one cable have many leads in it? I want to have my pedals off the ground so I can f with the knobs, but i don't want two long calbes for every effect to the footswitch. SEe the red cable.

Image
USBLUES
Pigpen
Pigpen
 
Posts: 142
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 10:54 am

Re: Guitar Effects Switching Unit

Postby hogan » Fri Feb 11, 2011 9:42 am

Gcx or wobo. You gotta pay to play.
Honest to the point of recklessness.
PM me for a cab
http://www.facebook.com/workingmansdead
Happy customers (~);-} :
paulinnc, spaceyrface43, AKdead, chuckles, ebelgee, Quebee, Kennay, bomall01, NashvilleMike, Strumminsix,jx2638,Chutley, Adam Deckard, jkstraw, TennesseeJedi, deadhead1988, spacefunkologist, rmackenzie
hogan
Senior Member
 
Posts: 762
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 6:01 pm

Re: Guitar Effects Switching Unit

Postby strumminsix » Fri Feb 11, 2011 9:48 am

You are welcome, dude! There are some options that may help:
Wobo used to have the box and controller for $400. But I've never used one?!

The GCX can usually be found used with cables for a fair price. Also there are a few controller options. Mine is the GroundLink and was only like $80?!
User avatar
strumminsix
Senior Member
 
Posts: 6634
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 8:13 am
Location: Chicago

Re: Guitar Effects Switching Unit

Postby strumminsix » Fri Feb 11, 2011 9:51 am

http://cgi.ebay.com/Digital-Music-Corp- ... 3f0721979b

This! Plugs right in, access to your 8 loops, no programming!
User avatar
strumminsix
Senior Member
 
Posts: 6634
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 8:13 am
Location: Chicago

Re: Guitar Effects Switching Unit

Postby erock » Fri Feb 11, 2011 10:13 am

I'm actually picking up the parts today to build one of these.
http://www.singlecoil.com/tb-strip/tbstrip.html

I went in on a big order with a friend so we could split shipping, but it was still pretty cheap. for the switches and jacks i think it came to around $50, this is for 10 loops.

this is the cheapest I could find the switches, and jacks for the matter
http://www.mammothelectronics.com/4SFS3PDT-LS-p/800-1005.htm
erock
710 ashbury
710 ashbury
 
Posts: 251
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 6:27 pm
Location: Pittsburgh

Re: Guitar Effects Switching Unit

Postby hogan » Fri Feb 11, 2011 10:38 am

erock wrote:I'm actually picking up the parts today to build one of these.
http://www.singlecoil.com/tb-strip/tbstrip.html

I went in on a big order with a friend so we could split shipping, but it was still pretty cheap. for the switches and jacks i think it came to around $50, this is for 10 loops.

this is the cheapest I could find the switches, and jacks for the matter
http://www.mammothelectronics.com/4SFS3PDT-LS-p/800-1005.htm


A true bypass strip (aka multiple loop box) is not the same thing as switcher. Erock, I suspect you already know this but for the original poster the link above is exactly what he doesn't want.
Honest to the point of recklessness.
PM me for a cab
http://www.facebook.com/workingmansdead
Happy customers (~);-} :
paulinnc, spaceyrface43, AKdead, chuckles, ebelgee, Quebee, Kennay, bomall01, NashvilleMike, Strumminsix,jx2638,Chutley, Adam Deckard, jkstraw, TennesseeJedi, deadhead1988, spacefunkologist, rmackenzie
hogan
Senior Member
 
Posts: 762
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 6:01 pm

Re: Guitar Effects Switching Unit

Postby erock » Fri Feb 11, 2011 11:35 am

hogan wrote:
erock wrote:I'm actually picking up the parts today to build one of these.
http://www.singlecoil.com/tb-strip/tbstrip.html

I went in on a big order with a friend so we could split shipping, but it was still pretty cheap. for the switches and jacks i think it came to around $50, this is for 10 loops.

this is the cheapest I could find the switches, and jacks for the matter
http://www.mammothelectronics.com/4SFS3PDT-LS-p/800-1005.htm


A true bypass strip (aka multiple loop box) is not the same thing as switcher. Erock, I suspect you already know this but for the original poster the link above is exactly what he doesn't want.



doh, didn't know that actually. I think i was just excited to get the parts now i just need to find time to build the damn thing
erock
710 ashbury
710 ashbury
 
Posts: 251
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 6:27 pm
Location: Pittsburgh

Re: Guitar Effects Switching Unit

Postby waldo041 » Fri Feb 11, 2011 12:02 pm

erock wrote:this is the cheapest I could find the switches, and jacks for the matter
http://www.mammothelectronics.com/4SFS3PDT-LS-p/800-1005.htm


thanks for the link erock! finally found some quality 4pDt footswitches!

peace,
waldo
User avatar
waldo041
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2741
Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 10:58 am
Location: Indiana

Re: Guitar Effects Switching Unit

Postby erock » Fri Feb 11, 2011 12:21 pm

waldo041 wrote:
erock wrote:this is the cheapest I could find the switches, and jacks for the matter
http://www.mammothelectronics.com/4SFS3PDT-LS-p/800-1005.htm


thanks for the link erock! finally found some quality 4pDt footswitches!

peace,
waldo



my pleasure, my firend found that site, and everything I looked at was way cheaper than i could find elsewhere. good for hardware, but not so much on the caps and resister side of things.
erock
710 ashbury
710 ashbury
 
Posts: 251
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 6:27 pm
Location: Pittsburgh

Re: Guitar Effects Switching Unit

Postby ndrewoods » Thu Jun 30, 2011 12:26 am

erock wrote:this is the cheapest I could find the switches, and jacks for the matter of guitar how to
http://www.mammothelectronics.com/4SFS3PDT-LS-p/800-1005.htm


Hey, thanks for posting this. And good find as well. I hope this could work well for a long time.
Last edited by ndrewoods on Sun Jul 03, 2011 1:41 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
ndrewoods
Rosebud
Rosebud
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2011 7:33 pm

Re: Guitar Effects Switching Unit

Postby RiverRat » Fri Jul 01, 2011 5:53 am

waldo041 wrote:
erock wrote:this is the cheapest I could find the switches, and jacks for the matter
http://www.mammothelectronics.com/4SFS3PDT-LS-p/800-1005.htm


thanks for the link erock! finally found some quality 4pDt footswitches!

peace,
waldo


Those are 3PDT.

Keep your eyes out for deals on eBay... I scored 25 of these for $30 WITH SHIPPING!
RiverRat
Senior Member
 
Posts: 958
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 10:38 am

Re: Guitar Effects Switching Unit

Postby JonnyBoy » Sat Jul 02, 2011 10:10 am

Unless you can get a snake like wire that you could wire all the loops too and then to the controller, you will have a million wires going everywhere with the conventional DIY true bypass loop station. The GCX and I assume some of the other higher end stuff uses Midi so it is one wire that is thin and manageable on stage. You can get your pedals into a top shelves of a rack, but the pedals will still need to be close to the GCX receiver to keep the wire thing in check there too. Very possible to do what you are asking with a GCX tho... I have my pedals in a Jerry like wooden rack I can set off the ground anywhere, and run the midi wire to the foot controller. Very effective and one of my most important and "Happy I bought it" piece of gear. Very rugged and durable too.
http://otislotus.net/ Finally finished our new site...
User avatar
JonnyBoy
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2134
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 8:35 am
Location: the south swamps

Re: Guitar Effects Switching Unit

Postby Jerry1996x » Mon Jan 02, 2012 2:10 pm

OK, i know this has been explained many times, but just to be clear, what you do is plug you pedals into the box in the rack, which you run a cable from into the switcher on the ground. yes or no?
Jerry1996x
Steal Your Face
Steal Your Face
 
Posts: 217
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 9:08 pm
Location: New Jersey


Return to Guitar Building and Mods

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests