Roland JC-90 Reverb broken

Roland JC-90 Reverb broken

Postby Recycledsole » Sun Dec 27, 2015 9:42 am

Recently pikced up a jc-90 with broken reverb. I tried multiple foot switches (boss and peavy) and it didnt activate it. Does it require a specific foot switch to activate or is the problem elsewhere. Tested the black and red wires coming from the reverb unit and the black makes loud noise when touched and the red doesnt. Any idea what is wrong and how much it would cost to fix?
THANKS!
User avatar
Recycledsole
tiger
tiger
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 6:06 am

Re: Roland JC-90 Reverb broken

Postby PaulJay » Sun Dec 27, 2015 3:38 pm

Do you have another amp that has a reverb tank you could plug your amp into? also check the connections going from the tank into you amp. If it's internaI I don't think it'll cost much to fix. Good luck
User avatar
PaulJay
Skeleton
Skeleton
 
Posts: 343
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 10:40 pm

Re: Roland JC-90 Reverb broken

Postby mkaufman » Sun Dec 27, 2015 7:05 pm

My JC77 had a reverb issue. I found a green wire from that tank had become disconnected. Reconnecting is resolved the issue. This happened twice. The wire is very thin.

ace
THE best way to score gear: http://www.auctionstud.com

For discounts on extended Dell warranties: http://www.advantech-ny.com/DellComputerWarranty/
mkaufman
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1649
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 6:26 pm

Re: Roland JC-90 Reverb broken

Postby Recycledsole » Sun Dec 27, 2015 8:23 pm

Hey thanks for the response where was the wire? Did you have to dismantle reverb tank to see it?
User avatar
Recycledsole
tiger
tiger
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 6:06 am

Re: Roland JC-90 Reverb broken

Postby waldo041 » Sun Dec 27, 2015 8:32 pm

Not trying to hijack this thread but it should probably be located in the "Amp" discussion.

Yes, the transducer wire Mike, I mean "Ace" is talking about is located inside the Reverb tank. I would be either on the input or output. If you have a DMM you can measure the dc resistance on each of the rca jacks, if you get no reading from either one or both then one of the wires is probably broke off or worse the transducer coil winding itself may be broken or fried.

~waldo
Disclaimer: I only make, modify or build things for those that seek what i may be able to provide.
User avatar
waldo041
Senior Member
 
Posts: 3407
Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 10:58 am

Re: Roland JC-90 Reverb broken

Postby mkaufman » Sun Dec 27, 2015 9:13 pm

I'm pretty sure I just removed the tank, flipped it over and saw the disconnected wire. It was pretty obvious what had happened.

ace
THE best way to score gear: http://www.auctionstud.com

For discounts on extended Dell warranties: http://www.advantech-ny.com/DellComputerWarranty/
mkaufman
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1649
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 6:26 pm

Re: Roland JC-90 Reverb broken

Postby Recycledsole » Mon Dec 28, 2015 1:17 pm

Okay thanks guys I'm going to have to check it out
User avatar
Recycledsole
tiger
tiger
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 6:06 am


Return to Bobby Tone

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron