MC50 Hookup Help and Guidance

MC50 Hookup Help and Guidance

Postby Jedstein » Wed Apr 26, 2017 11:02 am

Finally scratched the itch and scored an MC50. I'm not sure I needed it. My amp (a Shakedown modded Twin) sounds great. But -- well I don't need to explain -- I knew I would get one eventually!
Forgive me, I know that Macs have been covered extensively here, and I did spend quite a bit of time hunting through the threads for info, but I still wanted to make sure I was going about this the right way. Unfortunately, I'm not technically adept by any stretch, so I fully plan to have a tech do all this work. And, unless someone has any other suggestions for the North Jersey area, the guy I plan to take it to is Andy Fuchs, of Fuchs Amps, whose done a lot of work for me in the past. He's really good (obviously), but he's not a Jerry guy, so I just want to make sure that I give him the proper instructions. Would like some clarity on the following:

1. How should I advise him to connect the Twin to the MC50? Again -- I know this is basic -- but I don't want to fuck it up. My take from reading through the threads was to "tap" the signal before it goes to the power stage of the Twin and use an already existing hole such as the vibrato pedal input. Perhaps convert the vibrato jack to a 1/4 jack and do the same to the McIntosh (replace the RCA for a 1/4" jack)? Is this right? Anything else I should advise Andy as far as connecting the Twin to the MC50? Helpful schematics I can show him?

2. What other basic maintenance and upgrades should be performed to the MC50? Replace all electrolytic capacitors and check all resistor values? Anything else?