AmpliTube Fender

AmpliTube Fender

Postby gr8fl4295 » Sun Jan 22, 2012 4:53 pm

Possible to get a Jerry tone from software?
AmpliTube Fender has a nice '65 Twin Reverb.

Any suggestions on software based tones?
Once in a while you get shown the light
In the strangest of places if you look at it right.
User avatar
gr8fl4295
Ice Cream!
Ice Cream!
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 9:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: AmpliTube Fender

Postby studied_4_acid_test » Sun Jan 22, 2012 8:41 pm

I've screwed around with this before (and GuitarRig). The tone I got was always thick and throaty and honestly sounded authentic, however the problem I ran into was latency. I mean...it was close..but if I even have to question whether it sounds off then the trip is ruined. Even ASIO, to me, its not just exactly perfect.
User avatar
studied_4_acid_test
tiger
tiger
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2010 6:27 pm
Location: NJ

Re: AmpliTube Fender

Postby RiverRat » Mon Jan 23, 2012 5:33 am

I posted some different presets on the IK Multimedia site 3 years ago. They are all Amplitube 2/ X-Gear based and don't use Amplitube Fender since a Twin-like preamp is available in Amp2/3 and you can change the poweramp and speakers.

Amplitube 2 is faster than 3 if you don't have a newer PC. I would also recommend running XP or 7 instead of Vista. In order to get the lowest ASIO latency possible, I ended up creating a new system profile and disabled any unused hardware and services to squeeze every last bit of horsepower out of the PC.
RiverRat
Senior Member
 
Posts: 961
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 10:38 am

Re: AmpliTube Fender

Postby studied_4_acid_test » Mon Jan 23, 2012 7:30 am

I use my studio PC which has a fresh XP install with all the pretty, cosmetic features disabled. I've heard so bad stories about people trying to get their interface drivers to work with Win7 - just very glitchy, lots of crashes.

On a related note, I have my "Processor Scheduling" set as background service caching. Supposedly ASIO runs as a background service, therefore you can get a little extra juice by ticking this.
User avatar
studied_4_acid_test
tiger
tiger
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2010 6:27 pm
Location: NJ

Re: AmpliTube Fender

Postby gr8fl4295 » Mon Jan 23, 2012 9:47 am

I'm on a Mac. No latency issues or crashes.
Once in a while you get shown the light
In the strangest of places if you look at it right.
User avatar
gr8fl4295
Ice Cream!
Ice Cream!
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 9:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas


Return to Jerry Tone

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests