Alembic Mods

Alembic Mods

Postby claytushaywood » Sat Oct 15, 2011 6:46 pm

I'm gonna go ahead and get started on some of the Alembic mods on my silverface pro reverb because I like the idea of the preamp tap and the ability to still use the power amp. First I have a question. Both pre alembic and post alembic mods on waldo's site says to remove the 68k input resistor's... then he has the input layout diagram that shows the 68k input resistors in the pre alembic section and the diagram showing the plate resistors and taps in post alembic section says to refer to this diagram for the inputs... what's the deal with the 68k input resistors?

Also, I have some skills. I modded my amp from silverface to blackface, know how to discharge caps and what not to touch when, but i'm not a pro. i was wondering if anyone happened to know some of the differences between the twin reverb layout and the pro reverb... they look very similar. mine is the non master volume early (1973) pro reverb, i can only seem to find a schematic of the amp though, no layout.

does anyone out there use the a.) b.) and c.) bullets of the post alembicazation preamp tap. where a stereo plug inserted into one preamp tap allows the other channel to be used as a normal combo amp with vibrato? seems pretty rad... anyone got the special cable or box?

What type of filter caps are recommended? what about power and output transformer? id like to get a new one of those as i know one of mine is not original.
one more... what does hand selected mean when referring to components? should i measure those for exact tolerance? is $30 multi meter accurate enough?

Anyone got any sound demos of their modded fenders using the amps power section?

Thanks a bunch guys! as always your help is appreciated
claytushaywood
Billy
Billy

Re: Alembic Mods

Postby claytushaywood » Fri Jan 06, 2012 12:40 pm

anyone got something on this? bout to order parts and realized I hadnt figured this out yet!