A new love for the OBEL

When it doesn't fit anywhere else

A new love for the OBEL

Postby tcsned » Sat Apr 07, 2012 9:55 am

I've had an OBEL, Waldo buffer in my guitar since late fall. Back in the winter I was rehearsing for Godspell and some jackass who shall remain nameless stepped on the TRS cable going into the HubBub and effed it up (he surprisingly looked exactly like me). I didn't have another cable and just never got around to getting a new one. I've heard a lot of talk on this board about who much the OBEL helped their tone when using stomp boxes. I never really noticed any difference before. I've been playing for more than 30 years and at least think that I've got decent ears for that sort of thing. The OBEL to me was a ingenious device for convenience not tone. It's great to not have to do the stomp box tap dance before going to the mic to sing. I liked being able to turn the effects on and off from the guitar. But tonal difference . . . no.

I finally got a new TRS cable and used it again last night at a gig. I did notice the Mu 3 sounding smoother and better as well as better controll over the distortion and the phase shifter from my Lexicon. It may have been one of those perfect storm things that the amp, guitar, and effects were in alignment and sounded better than usual but I did just start using the OBEL again. My question is, is there something scientific to this? Or is it just metaphysical?
tcsned

Re: A new love for the OBEL

Postby waldo041 » Sat Apr 07, 2012 1:55 pm

tcsned wrote: My question is, is there something scientific to this? Or is it just metaphysical?