Music Theory

Musical Theory Abound!!!

Music Theory

Postby ch0ke » Wed Feb 08, 2006 1:17 pm

I've been playing the guitar for 2-3 years and I strive to understand the guitar more. I asked a friend how I could feel it more and learn how to play lead he said to learn music theory. Where can I learn music theory from square one and will It help me feel and understand lead more and be able to tear it up like warren haynes? Haha.. Well any help would be much appreciated. Thank you. :)
My eyes are lost in the wind but the horse still guides me
ch0ke
TC
TC

Postby ded1hed » Wed Feb 08, 2006 4:43 pm

i think if you expect to play like warren haynes or play great lead period your gonna have to have or at least develop a great ear and a feel. most great lead players prob. werent over concerned with theory

that said im sure the more theory you could take in the more you would improve. but some people ive played with played so robotically it didnt matter how much knowledge he had

my advice is to trust your ear above all else and play with feeling.
ded1hed
Ice Cream!
Ice Cream!

Postby ch0ke » Wed Feb 08, 2006 5:59 pm

Well said I guess I'll look into ear training and just keep on playing. Do you have any techniques to develop a great ear or any pointers?
ch0ke
TC
TC

Postby fum84 » Wed Feb 08, 2006 7:09 pm

no real technique. it develops overtime. my advice is for your guitar to be your best friend.
fum84
tiger
tiger

Postby ch0ke » Thu Feb 09, 2006 4:54 am

haha ok cool, right on. :cool:
ch0ke
TC
TC

Postby ded1hed » Thu Feb 09, 2006 6:53 am

heres the thing i used , this prob will sound crazy but it how i thought about it. i could already hear sounds in my head(like your mans guitar on soulshine)
so i just needed to learn how to get them out.

theory ultimately boreds me and no matter how many times i tell myself im gonna learn more i wuss oout after 10 minutes/.