would it be lame

Musical Theory Abound!!!

would it be lame

Postby gumbo » Wed Sep 05, 2007 4:47 pm

for me to get some guitar lessons. I have tought myself everything and have been playing for about 5 years on and off, really playing lots the past year. Anyway, I'm at a point where I'm lacking and I dont know what. I'm stuck. I just think a guitar teacher would be nice to have around to learn off some things from. gimme some input :smile:
Feel free to give me some meaning.
gumbo
Brent
Brent

Postby b weird » Wed Sep 05, 2007 4:57 pm

I feel that if you've tought yourself this far and you feel your lacking either try to work on what you feel your lacking in or go ahead and take some lessons. Atleast you tought yourself and didn't go get lessons right from the start. Maybe I should also go take some lessons myself, I've been playing for four years and I don't think I'm as good a lead player as I should be for as long as I've played. ALL my solo's are lame,boring and flat.
b weird

Postby LazyLightnin » Wed Sep 05, 2007 5:18 pm

you should tell us where youre really at with playing. what trouble spots are you encountering, what confuses you. i was at that point also, what propelled me was joining a band - any band. go to jams nights around town and read the think tank archives, as many times as it takes till you understand it , if you dont already. and not to mention all the grate help ive gotten from the wonderful contributers ehere. like i said, where do you have problems?
LazyLightnin

Postby gumbo » Wed Sep 05, 2007 6:41 pm

Its hard for me to venture past 2's and 3's if that makes sense. playing lead I also have troubles with. whats messed up, is that its really hard for me to jam with my 3 close friends, anyone else though, I can. It honestly feels like a phobia or something. I get self conscious and the ideas leave and sore sweaty hands come.
gumbo
Brent
Brent

Re: would it be lame

Postby shakedown_04092 » Wed Sep 05, 2007 8:23 pm