help for a new guitarist

Musical Theory Abound!!!

help for a new guitarist

Postby Currtwuzheere » Wed Apr 04, 2007 9:02 pm

im new to this forum, but ive been using this site for a while. Im only 15, so i never got the chance to see Jerry play live, and i just got into seriously listening to the dead a few months ago,

Ive been playing acoustic guitar for 10 1/2 months, but im still bad, so any advice
Currtwuzheere
Rosebud
Rosebud

Postby Shooster » Wed Apr 04, 2007 9:21 pm

If you expand on why you think you're bad you might get some advice more specific to you.

A few things that every beginner needs to learn though: all open chords (should be able to quickly transition between them), you should start listening to records and trying to picks up strums patterns/rhythms, and make sure and pay special attention to your fretting hand..... most beginners sound bad because of some mistakes in their fretting.
Shooster
Ice Cream!
Ice Cream!

Postby Currtwuzheere » Wed Apr 04, 2007 9:30 pm

thank you,

i think that my biggest problem is transitioning between chords, i can do it quickly and go from bar to open etc, but alot of the time it sounds dull in between
Currtwuzheere
Rosebud
Rosebud

Postby fatcat » Wed Apr 04, 2007 10:52 pm

two things id suggest. 1. just keep practicing and playing. chords will come in time

2. learn your modes and understand why you are playing a chord when you are. practice your left hand and get it loose. it should be easy and natural to switch between chords and single notes and then switch to chords again. fills will come and a smoother transition becomes easy.
fatcat
TC
TC

Postby lostsailor8782 » Thu Apr 05, 2007 5:26 am