Help a poor acoustic guitarist please!

Musical Theory Abound!!!

Help a poor acoustic guitarist please!

Postby AugustWest » Wed Apr 04, 2007 6:31 pm

I've come to realize that I am not very good at guitar. I love playing guitar and I'd like to get better. I've played bass for years and consider myself pretty good. I have a good understanding of music theory that I need for bass playing. ( I know circle of 5th's, chord shapes, modes and scales)

However when I play on acoustic guitar with friends I can't seem to bring it all together. I would consider myself a capable camp fire guitar player. I can strum through most dead and dylan songs with ease and sing along, but when I hear other people in coffee shops play these same songs , the guitar playing sounds so much better than my strumming. They add fills and even the chords they play sound more full. I needs some tips. practice tips, tips on filling by yourself on acoustic guitar, strumming patterns, or anything. I can tell from the video's I've seen on this site you guys are really good rhythm guitar players. Any advice would help thanks.
AugustWest
Bobby
Bobby

Postby Billbbill » Wed Apr 04, 2007 7:48 pm

First things first. I'm curious to see if anyone else feels as I do but it's important to have a clear view of how you actually sound. I know that how I think I sound when I'm playing and how I sound when I listen to a recording of me playing are not always the same.

I'm not sure why but maybe playing and listening are different to the point that your perception of how you sound is somewhat different while you're playing than when you're just listening. You're in a somewhat different head space.

Don't get me wrong, a clunker is a clunker, you can pretty much tell that as soon as you hit it.

Anyway I usually sound better to myself on playback than during the actual playing.

Maybe it's just me.

If you haven't examined yourself from this perspective yet it's definitely worth a look.