Zip Code issue

Zip Code issue

Postby jck_strw » Thu Aug 18, 2005 1:35 pm

I posted a link to the maps.rukind.com site on rec.music.gdead. Somebody tried to use the app with their zip code:

"I tried it, but it keeps telling me it needs a 5 digit zip...04072...That's 5...It must not like 0's...Great idea though..."

I tried searching on a valid zip code where no bandmate was listed and I got an error (08033). But if I used a zip code where I knew there was someone it worked. Ideas?

Jim
http://db.etree.org/jck_strw - Tapelist
-----
"Now get back to the stands before I shave off half your mustache and shove it up your left nostril. "
Bad News Bears
User avatar
jck_strw
Senior Member
 
Posts: 950
Joined: Wed May 12, 2004 5:23 pm
Location: The mountains of Colorado

Postby phpbb » Thu Aug 18, 2005 2:14 pm

I took the zipcode validator out last night for the same reason. Its tough finding free data that is complete. But, I just got some more data for more zipcodes, which I will be loading in. Also, I have points for Cities and states, its just time, time, time....
User avatar
phpbb
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1030
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 9:37 pm

expanded zipcodes

Postby phpbb » Mon Aug 22, 2005 8:53 pm

I've updated the zipcode database to be more up to date (within the last year). Although I've got some 35,000 zipcodes geocoded, I am missing a few obscure ones (which I am sure you'll find). if so, I will fix them as they are discovered.

I've also fixed the balloons to show the zipcode information correctly.

I also think I've got the search figured out so that when you press enter, the default action is to search on the zipcode.

let me know what I missed...

Gregg
User avatar
phpbb
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1030
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 9:37 pm


Return to Comments

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests