Rig Suggestions. Help wanted.

Rig Suggestions. Help wanted.

Postby ssrythm » Sat Apr 29, 2006 8:34 pm

This place is great. My buds and I have been playing for ~12 years, and during that time, I have tried different combos of amps and fxs trying to dial in that Bobby schwang. My efforts were mostly whim-purchases with blind luck being the determining factor as to how it all ended up. Lately I've had a Boss GT5 with a Mesa DC5. I basically now just plug into the Boogie as it sounds the best. But low and behold I've found this place, and I have learned a ton. I just purchased an Ibanez UE400 and I am looking for an intersound IVP. The rest of the rig will fall into place, but it looks like the IVP is going to be the difficult piece to secure. My question is does anyone here know where I can find one, or does anyone on here want to part with theirs? Is there an analog pre-amp out there that can reasonably recreate what the IVP does? Any suggestions on how I can structure my rig to allow for the 70's Bobby sound tweaking will be much appreciated. Thanks in advance, E.
ssrythm
Donna
Donna

Postby strumminsix » Sun Apr 30, 2006 8:02 pm

I had an IVP and sold it (I know we were PM'ing but figured it might be helpful for others).

The reason is that I was looking for more of a 73-77 Bobby sound.

And that definately is not the IVP.

I'm playing a Mesa Lonestar know and barely any effects.

From there alot of it is in the fingers and how you shape the chords with relation to the next chords in the progression.

An IVP will get you that early 80s Bobby tone.

Be sure that is what you are after.
strumminsix

Bobby's Sound

Postby Laytonco » Mon May 01, 2006 6:50 am

Agreed. Less is more when it comes to that early Bob sound. I use a Heritage boutique amp, with EQ and that's it for the most part. Sometimes I'll kick in a little TS808 overdrive or a Qtron for some touch wah. In fact, I just started using the Qtron on Eyes. What a crazy sound!
Laytonco