learning to solo?

learning to solo?

Postby caspersvapors » Thu Apr 27, 2006 12:39 am

ok so Ive been playing guitar for about 6 or 7 months now (learning on my own) and Ive gotten pretty good with chords, etc. I was wondering how did you all learn to solo? Sometimes I'll put on a song and play along to it and I can usually find little spots where I can make some weaksauce solo but thats about it. I know very little about music theory so yeah..
caspersvapors

Postby mikeohiostate » Thu Apr 27, 2006 6:27 am

mikeohiostate
Brent
Brent

Postby strumminsix » Thu Apr 27, 2006 9:04 am

My two favorite lead guitarists are Jerry and Mark Knopfler. Both of these guys do very similar things:

#1 - start by playing the melody
#2 - build off of that

This is a good start!
strumminsix

Postby sarraqum » Thu Apr 27, 2006 9:38 am

Practise practise and practise, 3 Ps....

When it comes to scales I tend to either record my own chord strumming, loop it and then just solo play over it. Alternatively there are few sites available that let you practise your soloing.

This site is pretty cool, put in the chords you want and just go for it:

http://www.all-guitar-chords.com/guitar_chords_jam.php

On this page you can download Blues backing tracks, for blues scale of course:

http://www.torvund.net/guitar/progressi ... spro-1.asp
sarraqum
Steal Your Face
Steal Your Face

Postby letitflow » Thu Apr 27, 2006 1:06 pm

I just learned the major scale and played along with jerry.. easy songs are song like deal. So this is a way you could go. First play the whole scale, then play bits of it.

I like eyes though because you play both G during chorus and E during rest of song. So you can practice more of the fretboard that way in one song.

And the other great thing about eyes is that the tempo goes from slow to frenetic depending on the year. So it challenges you to adapt your playing.