Django meet Jerry - the Lone Arranger strikes again

Place for the rest of the music

Django meet Jerry - the Lone Arranger strikes again

Postby tcsned » Sat Mar 13, 2010 9:59 pm

I was trying to add some piano to Must've Been the Roses tonight and my guitar synth was making some shitty noise. Wife was out of town, mother-in-law was watching the kids so I started playing with Douce Ambience probably my all time favorite Django tune to play. It has a really cool chord progression and it's way fun to play over. I've always thought that the Mutron III was a great effect for that Django swing sound so I mashed it all together. I used the amp simulator in Logic Pro 7, I used a Bassman sound w/a little crunch since I couldn't find a cleaner sound I liked. I used my Del'Arte Hommage for the acoustic lead and doubled the rhythm part with my Taylor 810 and the Del'Arte.The electric is my WGD with Barden pickups -->Mutron III -->Logic. The bass is my '73 P-Bass run direct. The drums are just a kick and snare loop (if I do anything else with this I'll get someone who can actually play drums to do it). Not a polished tune by any stretch, but that's the story of my life - start a buh-zillion things finish only a few. It's been fun getting back into doing some recording again. I hope you enjoy!

http://www.vtcli.com/media/tom/douce1.mp3
tcsned

Re: Django meet Jerry - the Lone Arranger strikes again

Postby WilliamC » Sun Mar 14, 2010 6:12 am

Sweet indeed!
WilliamC
Blues for Allah
Blues for Allah

Postby ronster » Sun Mar 14, 2010 6:14 am

That's not polished? That totally kicks. I'm putting that I on my Ipod. What is the chord progression and scale(s) you are using?
ronster
Bobby
Bobby

Postby tcsned » Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:06 am

thanks ronster!
the chords for the intro are:
D7 - Ebmaj7 -E7 - F6 - Bb6 - Ebmaj7 - D7sus4 - D7
part A:
Gm7 / Am7 D9 | Gm7 / Am7 | Bbdim7 / Bm6 / | Cm6 / Eb9 / | Ab7 / D9 / |
Gm7 / Am7 D9 | Gm7 / Am7 | Bbdim7 / Bm6 / | Cm6 / Eb9 / | A7 D9 Gm7 / |