Stupid Question - can a rack be a cab?

Stupid Question - can a rack be a cab?

Postby strumminsix » Tue May 25, 2010 8:36 am

I bought 12U flight case. The interior is a solid wood box then there is padding, of course, around it.

It's likely a gross over simplification but could I just pop in a speaker on a baffle and use it as cab, take the back cover off and use it as an open back cab?

How does that differ from any other open back cab? From most of what I read open back doesn't require much science.

Now please laugh then educate me :)
User avatar
strumminsix
Senior Member
 
Posts: 6653
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 8:13 am
Location: Chicago

Re: Stupid Question - can a rack be a cab?

Postby hogan » Tue May 25, 2010 9:10 am

It could. Racks are usually made of 3/8" to 1/2" w/ abs skins, you go loud enough it's going to vibrate and buzz, not to mention any hardware.
So it's like asking if a 2X4 could be made into a guitar. It could, but it might not be worth the effort.
Honest to the point of recklessness.
PM me for a cab
http://www.facebook.com/workingmansdead
Happy customers (~);-} :
paulinnc, spaceyrface43, AKdead, chuckles, ebelgee, Quebee, Kennay, bomall01, NashvilleMike, Strumminsix,jx2638,Chutley, Adam Deckard, jkstraw, TennesseeJedi, deadhead1988, spacefunkologist, rmackenzie
hogan
Senior Member
 
Posts: 762
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 6:01 pm

Re: Stupid Question - can a rack be a cab?

Postby strumminsix » Tue May 25, 2010 9:29 am

hogan wrote:It could. Racks are usually made of 3/8" to 1/2" w/ abs skins, you go loud enough it's going to vibrate and buzz, not to mention any hardware.
So it's like asking if a 2X4 could be made into a guitar. It could, but it might not be worth the effort.

Thanks, dude. Assuming that the rattle was simply controlled, what about the box itself!?
User avatar
strumminsix
Senior Member
 
Posts: 6653
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 8:13 am
Location: Chicago

Re: Stupid Question - can a rack be a cab?

Postby hogan » Tue May 25, 2010 9:35 am

If it's as simple as getting a piece of 1/2" birch ply, cutting some holes in it and mounting the speaks, I say go for it. That ain't much to lose, yaknowhaisayin?
Honest to the point of recklessness.
PM me for a cab
http://www.facebook.com/workingmansdead
Happy customers (~);-} :
paulinnc, spaceyrface43, AKdead, chuckles, ebelgee, Quebee, Kennay, bomall01, NashvilleMike, Strumminsix,jx2638,Chutley, Adam Deckard, jkstraw, TennesseeJedi, deadhead1988, spacefunkologist, rmackenzie
hogan
Senior Member
 
Posts: 762
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 6:01 pm

Re: Stupid Question - can a rack be a cab?

Postby RiverRat » Tue May 25, 2010 9:43 am

hogan wrote:It could. Racks are usually made of 3/8" to 1/2" w/ abs skins, you go loud enough it's going to vibrate and buzz, not to mention any hardware.
So it's like asking if a 2X4 could be made into a guitar. It could, but it might not be worth the effort.


Oddessy Cases are all wood and heavy.... Rack Rails can be put into a wooden cabinet too!

Peavey used to make a kickback speaker cabinet with a 2U rack space and a 12 or 15" Black Widow installed.

2x4's make for a great lapsteel BTW!
RiverRat
Senior Member
 
Posts: 961
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 10:38 am

Re: Stupid Question - can a rack be a cab?

Postby hogan » Tue May 25, 2010 10:03 am

RiverRat wrote:
Oddessy Cases are all wood and heavy.... Rack Rails can be put into a wooden cabinet too!

Peavey used to make a kickback speaker cabinet with a 2U rack space and a 12 or 15" Black Widow installed.

2x4's make for a great lapsteel BTW!



Ever the contrarian! :lol:
SS mentioned it was a 12u w/ padding, doubt it was an Oddessy.
That peavey cab was a speaker cab first, adding a 2u rack rails isn't adding much.
I'll take your word on the lapsteel!
Honest to the point of recklessness.
PM me for a cab
http://www.facebook.com/workingmansdead
Happy customers (~);-} :
paulinnc, spaceyrface43, AKdead, chuckles, ebelgee, Quebee, Kennay, bomall01, NashvilleMike, Strumminsix,jx2638,Chutley, Adam Deckard, jkstraw, TennesseeJedi, deadhead1988, spacefunkologist, rmackenzie
hogan
Senior Member
 
Posts: 762
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 6:01 pm

Re: Stupid Question - can a rack be a cab?

Postby jdsmodulus » Tue May 25, 2010 10:22 am

Doesn't Mesa make rack cabs? I know there is a lot of touring bands that have road cases that are contained, usually with a 4x12 or something built into a case alongside of a rack. Mark Karan also used to have a JBL Eon in his case but there it was an actual speaker housed in the rack. I think it would work for you strummin. I would be interrested to know, I have thought about racking my 3x12 in a foam lined case so it is easier to move. If I did it would be cool to just pop the lids and plug it in. But there in again its a cab inside of the rack.
jdsmodulus
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1252
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 2:12 pm

Re: Stupid Question - can a rack be a cab?

Postby JonnyBoy » Tue May 25, 2010 11:36 am

I think the idea bout putting a 1x12 or 1x10 in a box and then putting it into the cab sounds ideal, and I doubt you would have a bad sound out of that... It is something worth looking into. Like Hogan said, if its just a small piece of wood and a few fasteners to try it out, whatchagunnahurt? I think its a nifty idea, the bee's knee's even.
http://otislotus.net/ Finally finished our new site...
User avatar
JonnyBoy
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2134
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 8:35 am
Location: the south swamps

Re: Stupid Question - can a rack be a cab?

Postby strumminsix » Tue May 25, 2010 11:40 am

hogan wrote:If it's as simple as getting a piece of 1/2" birch ply, cutting some holes in it and mounting the speaks, I say go for it. That ain't much to lose, yaknowhaisayin?

Thanks and will do. Was just curious if the odd sized box or material will impact tone.

Oh, and this is an MT brand cab which look very much like what the boys had in a few pics with this wonderful but odd looking little front stand to tilt it upward.


jdsmodulus wrote:Doesn't Mesa make rack cabs? I know there is a lot of touring bands that have road cases that are contained, usually with a 4x12 or something built into a case alongside of a rack.


Sorta. They are combination of "live in cases" for the head or cab and a rack all in 1. Like this:
http://www.affordable-cases.com/catalog ... styleId=12
User avatar
strumminsix
Senior Member
 
Posts: 6653
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 8:13 am
Location: Chicago

Re: Stupid Question - can a rack be a cab?

Postby hogan » Tue May 25, 2010 11:59 am

Putting an existing speaker cab into a roadcase/rack type thing isn't going to matter to the speaker cab or sound provided you open the back of the rack.
To Strummin's question about the actual rack case being a cab, and the size of the case effecting sound, I say try it. I've seen 1x12's the size of 2x12's that sounded killer(as per detuned ideaology).
Honest to the point of recklessness.
PM me for a cab
http://www.facebook.com/workingmansdead
Happy customers (~);-} :
paulinnc, spaceyrface43, AKdead, chuckles, ebelgee, Quebee, Kennay, bomall01, NashvilleMike, Strumminsix,jx2638,Chutley, Adam Deckard, jkstraw, TennesseeJedi, deadhead1988, spacefunkologist, rmackenzie
hogan
Senior Member
 
Posts: 762
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 6:01 pm

Re: Stupid Question - can a rack be a cab?

Postby strumminsix » Tue May 25, 2010 12:35 pm

hogan wrote:To Strummin's question about the actual rack case being a cab, and the size of the case effecting sound, I say try it. I've seen 1x12's the size of 2x12's that sounded killer(as per detuned ideaology).


Thanks. Will test this out and report back in a few weeks.
User avatar
strumminsix
Senior Member
 
Posts: 6653
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 8:13 am
Location: Chicago

Re: Stupid Question - can a rack be a cab?

Postby ugly rumor » Wed May 26, 2010 5:46 pm

Well, being in a smart-ass mood, Danelectro used to put the whole amp, speaker, the whole works, into the guitar case. So did Silvertone.

And you need at least a 2X6 for a lap steel, dummies!!
Gone are the days we stopped to decide where we should go, we just ride...
ugly rumor
Bobby
Bobby
 
Posts: 371
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2009 6:33 am
Location: Virginia

Re: Stupid Question - can a rack be a cab?

Postby JonnyBoy » Wed May 26, 2010 6:02 pm

ugly rumor wrote:Well, being in a smart-ass mood, Danelectro used to put the whole amp, speaker, the whole works, into the guitar case. So did Silvertone.

And you need at least a 2X6 for a lap steel, dummies!!


You could dowell or biscuit join and glue the 2x4's dummier!! 'm a smarter-ass 8)
http://otislotus.net/ Finally finished our new site...
User avatar
JonnyBoy
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2134
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 8:35 am
Location: the south swamps

Re: Stupid Question - can a rack be a cab?

Postby ugly rumor » Thu May 27, 2010 9:31 am

:hail:

I know when I've met my match!
Gone are the days we stopped to decide where we should go, we just ride...
ugly rumor
Bobby
Bobby
 
Posts: 371
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2009 6:33 am
Location: Virginia

Re: Stupid Question - can a rack be a cab?

Postby Quarterpounder » Thu Apr 05, 2012 11:55 am

I remember seeing a Peavey 1-12 or 1-10 cab that could be mounted in a rack. I've only seen one and I should have bought it. It was in the mid-ninties in Nacogdoches Tx at an army surplus store of all places. It was black and had a 3 sided closed back. I've never seen another, but would love one. I might have to build one.
I have also made a lapsteel out of a 2x6. The power was out so I made it with no electricity. I used a hand drill for the string-through holes and holes for zither pins as tuners. I had a PRS neck pickup(ceramic) lying around and some fat metal bolts for the bridge and nut. A few minutes with a chisel and I was done. The thing can't be touched by any manufactured lapsteel I've come across(I've owned a bunch). It looks like hell, but sounds huge. Never goes out of tune unless you use a zither pin tuning wrench. The pine(guessing) gives it an airyness that I can't find in other lapsteels.
Quarterpounder
tiger
tiger
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 12:35 pm


Return to Guitar

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest