Songs to play, techniques, help?

Songs to play, techniques, help?

Postby Pigpen » Mon Jul 02, 2007 9:34 pm

Well I just came back from New York after not playing guitar for a week and realized I had nothing to play and not knowing what to practice. Clarifying skill level usually limits the answers that people give, so Ill just say im not a beginner. List songs your playing by ANY band, techniques your working on, warm ups you use etc. Thanks a lot, I know youll list only good things. :o
Simple enough
Pigpen
Billy
Billy

Postby gratephulphish123 » Tue Jul 03, 2007 9:35 am

after not playing for a while i run through all diatonics then jam on some intensely melodic songs like ship of fools, or peggy-o, if you can make those sound good you're warmed up
gratephulphish123

Postby Pigpen » Wed Jul 04, 2007 3:52 pm

:(
Simple enough
Pigpen
Billy
Billy

Postby ronster » Thu Jul 05, 2007 6:54 am

Since you frowned and I get to see my new avatar i'll give it a go. For playing by yourself I would go with the following:

Dead tunes:
Ramble on Rose, check out Jdarks for loads of riffs. Great chord progression with tons licks that follow the chord pattern.
Gamorah
Terrapin (ending part after they sing Terrapin!)
Ripple
Brown Eyed Woman
Deep Elem Blues
Loser
Deal
Morning Dew

Learn to fingerpick and no better way then playing Gary Davis/Jorma tunes at:
http://perso.orange.fr/idj/tablemat/tablemat.htm

Hesitation Blues
Death dont have no mercy
I know you rider
Embryonic journey
That will never happen no more
Water song

Blues stuff:
Key to the highway
Thrill is gone
Stormy Monday
Red House

Other stuff:
Honkey Tonk Woman
Dear Mr. Fantasy
Over the hills and far away

I would pick any tune from the above and check out utube for videos and the net for tabs and listen to it and play. They are all tunes that sound good with one person playing with or without singing.