Wiring a guitar DIY ... help/advice

Chat about Equipment Info

Wiring a guitar DIY ... help/advice

Postby monroe » Sun Nov 21, 2010 6:37 am

I've got a couple of guitars, and with my new Carvin "Wolf" on the way and likely to become my new #1, I'd like to make some changes (pups, wiring, etc) to some of the old ones. I'd like to learn to do this kinda stuff myself, as it'll A.) save me some cash, and B.) doesn't seem like it would be all that hard. That said, I've never done it before, so is there any advice that experts here can offer? Any sites others have found that have information for beginners in guitar wiring? I guess what I'm really looking for is a little encouragement ...

I guess the first thing I should do is get me a soldering iron and learn how to use it (Dear Santa, I'd like a soldering kit for Christmas). Next step I would guess is learning how to read/follow some basic guitar wiring diagrams. I'm a logical/math oriented person, and I had some electrical physics courses in college, so I know the basics of electricity and resisters capacitors, series/parallel, etc. I've looked at several wiring diagrams, and it really doesn't seem that hard. just follow along and solder the right wires to the right spots ...

I think I'm going to hop on craigslist and pickup some POS beater for $50 that I can use as a "learning ground", and then when I feel comfortable, I can tackle one of my real guitars ... Now I just need someone to tell me, "you can do it!"
monroe
Blues for Allah
Blues for Allah

Re: Wiring a guitar DIY ... help/advice

Postby drewfx » Sun Nov 21, 2010 11:08 am

Ask Santa for a (basic) multimeter to go with the soldering iron, as it makes testing/troubleshooting much easier. :-)

Soldering is a skill to be learned, and, like playing music, you just need some practice when you start. You definitely want a good, well lighted work area.