Looping pedal advice...

Chat about Equipment Info

Looping pedal advice...

Postby jx2638 » Sat Nov 20, 2010 7:07 pm

Looks like it's been a couple of years since this was discussed and wondering if there's any new advice/info/suggestions on looping pedals. Although I have little use for the fx, amp modeling, etc., I was drawn to the DigiTech RP155, a $99 multi-fx pedal with a 20 second looper...although I've read complaints about not being able to use the built-in drum tracks behind your loops. Any info appreciated. Thanks.
jx2638
Aoxomoxoa
Aoxomoxoa
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 6:26 pm

Re: Looping pedal advice...

Postby jackr » Sat Nov 20, 2010 7:32 pm

Take a look at the digitech Jamman. It has a memory card that you can put hours of loops on and call up when you need them. Very simple to use too.
On tour '76 - '81
Clean & Sober since '87
User avatar
jackr
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1051
Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 1:16 pm
Location: Wellington Florida

Re: Looping pedal advice...

Postby jester536 » Sun Nov 21, 2010 4:49 am

My only experience is with a Jamman. Really like it. They've updated it a bit since I bought mine. It does everything I need. Can't imagine one being any better.
If the thunder don't getcha then the lightning will!
http://www.reverbnation.com/unchartedwaters
User avatar
jester536
One More Saturday Night
One More Saturday Night
 
Posts: 405
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 1:05 pm
Location: Helena, Montana

Re: Looping pedal advice...

Postby jerrys.kids » Sun Nov 21, 2010 6:20 am

+1 for jamman. i have the older one with the two pedal setup. very easy to use. hours of fun...
"Mama said, don't go near that river."
jerrys.kids
Pigpen
Pigpen
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 2:19 pm
Location: Worcester,MA

Re: Looping pedal advice...

Postby jx2638 » Sun Nov 21, 2010 7:00 am

I've read that the JamMan Solo comes with 9 drum/rhythm guide tracks built in...but they're not much more than a metronome. Is it possible to download more sophisticated drum samples from the computer to the Jamman?
jx2638
Aoxomoxoa
Aoxomoxoa
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 6:26 pm

Re: Looping pedal advice...

Postby jerrys.kids » Sun Nov 21, 2010 7:24 am

i'm pretty sure you can put tracks on the memory card but haven't got that far into it. maybe someone else can help with that end of it. i basically lay down rythym and jam over it.
"Mama said, don't go near that river."
jerrys.kids
Pigpen
Pigpen
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 2:19 pm
Location: Worcester,MA

Re: Looping pedal advice...

Postby jx2638 » Sun Nov 21, 2010 10:37 am

Is it easy to set up loops on a mac's Garage Band?
jx2638
Aoxomoxoa
Aoxomoxoa
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 6:26 pm

Re: Looping pedal advice...

Postby drewfx » Sun Nov 21, 2010 10:54 am

I have the Jamman Stereo.

You can upload/download loops to/from the computer, where you can import/export them as standard audio files. And with 99 loops (plus 99 more on a card and a mic input), it's not only a looper, but also a "simple recorder/idea pad" - if you come up with something cool, you can record it with a few taps of your foot and save it to your computer.

The manuals and SW can be downloaded from their web site if you want to take a closer look.
drewfx
Blues for Allah
Blues for Allah
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2009 7:25 pm

Re: Looping pedal advice...

Postby Chutley » Mon Nov 22, 2010 6:09 am

I also have the Jamman Stereo, and really enjoy it - easy to use, sturdy, lots of memory. It has more features than I'll probably ever use from a looper. The only downside in my mind was the price - a little steep, but I'm happy I bought it.
User avatar
Chutley
bruce
bruce
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:30 am
Location: Colorado


Return to Grateful Dead Equipment Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests