Help!! (Problems with my Tiger build)

Chat about Equipment Info

Help!! (Problems with my Tiger build)

Postby Capt Rosebuddy » Fri Dec 19, 2008 11:52 pm

Guys I need help, here’s the scoop…back in about July I bought a fairly cheap used PRS (Asian SE EG) student model guitar to use as a bed for a Tiger style set up. I picked that guitar for a number of reasons for starters I liked the neck, but mainly that the pup’s where mounted on the pick guard like a strat, my thinking was that it would be easier to do the wiring.

I’m basically a novice when it comes to the DIY guitar mod world so I sent the guitar, which I had stripped and re finished, the CAE buffer, 2 super II’s a SD1, and jackofroses.com’s “brass dual jack plate” to a local shop that comes highly recommended by some guys who’s opinions I trust and who have had work done at said shop. This was in August. The plan was that the shop’s guitar tech would block the trem bridge, fabricate a brass nut, and do the wiring per the old Dozin schematic and the whole thing would only take a few days, and that’s when we hit a snag….

Because the guitar was refinished the original pickguard would not match and therefore was no good, so a new one would have to be made. The shop elected to make a template up and send it out to a vendor, have it made; shipped back to Boston and then the rest of the work could begin. The template went out in early September and despite my bi weekly calls to the shop asking for a progress report no progress has been made. It’s getting to the point that all I want is to have the damn thing done but I can’t get any answers and I think for whatever reason I’m getting the run around, it sucks..

So I guess what I’m asking is:
1. Can anybody recommend someplace I can order a custom fabricated tortoise pick guard from because the vendor that the shop picked is just not cutting it?